Awards & Prizes 2024

The BSP annual awards and prizes 2024, for research into periodontology and implant dentistry, have been awarded to the following winners:


The Clinical Fellowship Award is designed to enhance clinical training by providing support for successful applicants to participate in or attend events that have a clear educational benefit, with explicitly stated educational outcomes. With a maximum award of up to £4,000, the 2024 prizes has been awarded to:

  • Pasquale Santamaria


  • Kiran Amin

The BSP Research Grant is designed to support postgraduate research development and training with a value up to £5,000. The primary purpose is to enable the successful applicants to undertake research projects with a clear application in periodontology. The 2024 prize has been awarded to:

  • Sara Sharaf


  • Giuseppe Mainas

The Frank Ashley Undergraduate Prize is designed to encourage dental and hygiene therapy undergraduates at UK Dental Schools to undertake a project that has a clear educational benefit in periodontology. The 2024 prize of £500 has been awarded to:

  • Laura Irving