Systematic Review Prize

The Systematic Review Prize, instituted in 2018, is awarded annually by the British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, with the object of encouraging researchers in the early stages of their career. The Prize takes the form of a cash award of £1000.

The 2020 judges shortlisted the applications to the following seven entries:

  • Chloe Harrington - "The professional management of periimplantitis: a systematic review of randomised controlled trials"              
  • Niamh Kelly - "Periodontal health and the frequency of COPD exacerbations: a systematic review and meta-analysis"
  • Chaitanya Joshi - "Association between serum antibody response against the key periodontal bacteria and increased risk of myocardial infarction: systematic review and meta analysis"
  • Niamh Coffey -"Periodontal and Oral Health Status of People with Cystic Fibrosis: a Systematic Review"         
  • Shailly Luthra - "Invasive dental treatment and acute vascular events: A systematic review and meta-analysis"        ​​​​​​
  • Kunaal Dhingra - "Flapless non-surgical periodontal therapy with enamel matrix derivative: a systematic review"
  • Jamini Mehta - "Study design, primary outcome and reproducibility in randomized controlled trials in periodontology. A methodological systematic review" 

All of the entries can be viewed here:

The BSP is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2020 Systematic Review Prize is Niamh Kelly.